1555 Bond Street, Suite 103A
Naperville, IL 60563

Se Habla Español
Call Today for a Free Consultation

Call Us630-448-2001

Will County Criminal Defense AttorneyIf your driver's license was revoked because of a DUI or other reason, you will need to attend a hearing through the Secretary of State in order to have it reinstated. There are both formal and informal reinstatement hearings. If this is your first DUI or your license was revoked because of a minor moving violation, you will most likely attend an informal hearing. It is important to prepare for your hearing and take all of the steps required by the Illinois Secretary of State. Your driving privileges depend on it.

Informal Driver's License Hearings in Illinois

An informal driver's license reinstatement hearing takes place at a Secretary of State facility. You do not need to schedule the hearing in advance as these hearings take place on a first-come, first-served basis. During the hearing, you will be asked a series of questions by a hearing officer. The hearing officer may ask you about the reasons your license was revoked, your criminal history, and the lifestyle changes you have made to avoid reoffending. The hearing officer will make a recommendation to the Secretary of State, and then a final decision will be handed down.

Preparing For Your Informal Hearing

Although the word "informal" may imply otherwise, an informal Secretary of State hearing is still a serious matter you will need to prepare for in advance. Showing up to the hearing unprepared will significantly decrease your chances of getting your driver's license back. The steps you need to take before the hearing depend on the circumstances of the offense and the results of your drug and alcohol evaluation. For example, if you are classified as "minimal risk," you must complete 10 hours of Substance Use Prevention and Recovery classes. If you are classified as high-risk dependant, you will need to complete 75 hours of substance abuse treatment and participate in a continuing care program. Make sure you have all the documentation needed to prove your completion of the required steps. It may also be a good idea to practice what you will say to the hearing officer in advance, so you are as articulate as possible. Dress appropriately and treat the hearing officer and other individuals at the hearing with respect.

...

Continue Reading...

Naperville Underage Drinking Crime LawyerThe drinking age is 21 in the United States. However, this does not stop many teenagers and young adults from drinking before they are old enough to do so legally. Whether due to peer pressure, curiosity, or a desire to look “cool,” underage drinking is not uncommon.

If your child was caught with alcohol or charged with an alcohol-related offense, it is important to understand your rights and options under Illinois law.

Alcohol Possession by Minors is a Criminal Offense

In Illinois, underage people in possession of alcohol can be charged with a Class A misdemeanor criminal offense. While jail time can often be avoided for a first-time offender, it is possible for an underage offender to face up to a year in jail and a maximum fine of $2,500 for alcohol possession. A teen or young adult caught with alcohol may also have his or her driver’s license suspended for six months for a first offense. If a young person uses a fake ID to buy alcohol, he or she may face additional criminal penalties for possession of a fraudulent ID.

...

Continue Reading...

Can I Get Out of a Second DUI? 

Posted on in DUI

Will County Drunk Driving Defense LawyerIn Illinois, the criminal and administrative penalties associated with drunk driving charges increase with each subsequent DUI offense. For example, many first-time DUI offenders are eligible for court supervision. However, individuals accused of drunk driving for the second time are not typically eligible for supervision. There are mandatory minimum penalties for second-time DUI offenders, including five days in jail or 240 hours of community service.

Defending yourself against DUI charges is especially important if you received a DUI in the past. If you or a loved one were arrested for drunk driving for the second time, make sure to contact an experienced DUI defense lawyer for help.

Second DUI Defense Options

When you are facing DUI charges, it is important to know that you have options. An experienced lawyer will be able to review the facts of your case and help you develop the best possible defense strategy for your situation. Some common defenses to DUI charges include:

...

Continue Reading...

Naperville Criminal AttorneyAccusations of domestic violence have the potential to be life-changing. In Illinois, domestic battery, assault, and related offenses are punishable by fines and jail time. However, the damage to an individual's personal and professional reputation caused by a domestic violence conviction is often irreversible. 

If you were accused of abusing a romantic partner or family member, you need to take swift action to protect your rights and safeguard your future. 

Speak With a Domestic Violence Criminal Defense Lawyer 

The first step is to contact a criminal defense attorney who has experience defending against domestic violence accusations. An experienced lawyer can review the details of your case and develop a strategic defense. Your lawyer will also be able to advise you on the best way to communicate with law enforcement and the prosecutor assigned to your case. Do not work with just any attorney. You need a lawyer who knows how to navigate the complexities of a domestic violence case and has a proven track record of success. 

...

Continue Reading...

Naperville Criminal AttorneyEveryone makes mistakes, even good people like yourself. In order to erase your criminal records, you must discover which aspects of your criminal history are eligible for expungement (to remove the records) and which are eligible for sealing once you have obtained all the relevant data (to hide the records from the public). 

Read the basics of record sealing and expungement to learn more about your rights and how a Will County Lawyer criminal defense lawyer can help you get the best results. 

How to Seal A Criminal Record

The circuit clerk in the county where the arrests took place or the charges were filed must first receive your petition and payment. You must submit a petition in each county where you were charged or where you were arrested. You might be eligible for a fee waiver if your income is below the federal poverty level.

...

Continue Reading...

Illinois State Bar Association DuPage County Bar Association Kane County Bar Association Hispanic Lawyers Association of Illinois
Law Office of Patricia Magaña, LLC

1555 Bond Street, Suite 103A, Naperville, IL 60563

Back to Top