1555 Bond Street, Suite 103A
Naperville, IL 60563

Se Habla Español
Call Today for a Free Consultation

Call Us630-448-2001

Subscribe to this list via RSS Blog posts tagged in underage drinking

Posted on in Juvenile

IL DUI lawyerEvery single year, hundreds of teens throughout the state of Illinois are arrested and charged with consuming alcohol as a minor. Due to the inherent risks that teenage alcohol consumption can have, such as alcohol poisoning and binge drinking, the potential legal consequences of a minor in possession charge can be extreme. Below we will examine some of the legal ramifications of teenage drinking, and how you should respond if your child has been charged with an underage drinking-related criminal offense.

The True Cost of Underage Drinking

When the vast majority of people think of underage drinking charges, they assume that the charges will likely lead to a slap on the wrist, the reality is that underage drinking charges can potentially jeopardize your child’s future. According to Illinois state law, possession, consumption, or purchase of alcohol by a minor (anyone below the legal drinking age of 21) constitutes a Class A misdemeanor charge, fines up to $2,500, and potentially significant jail-time. It is worth noting that a charge involving fraudulent identification or the act of impersonating another person in order to purchase or consume alcohol can result in felony charges. Whether your child has been charged with a felony or misdemeanor, a criminal conviction of this magnitude can impact their educational and occupational opportunities.

When it comes to drinking and driving, minors face increasingly strict state laws. Due to Illinois’ Zero Tolerance policy, a teenage driver can face a three-month driving suspension simply for having a blood alcohol content over 0.00. If the teen refuses chemical testing, such as a breathalyzer test, they will face an automatic six-month suspension. Much like an adult, if a teen is charged with a DUI, they will face Class A misdemeanor charges. The significant difference in the charge is the fact that a teenage driver will face a two-year license revocation period if convicted.

...

Posted on in Juvenile

IL DUI lawyerRaising a child is never easy, raising a teenager can come with even more unforeseen challenges. Parents of teens constantly worry about their child drinking underage, for good reason too. According to the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism, teens aged 12 to 20 consume approximately 11% of the nation’s alcohol. While the vast majority of underage drinking concerns revolve around the health implications of alcohol consumption, the legal ramifications of an underage drinking charge can drastically change your child’s life.

Underage Drinking Charges in Illinois

In the state of Illinois, underage drinking comes with significant criminal punishments. According to state law, consumption or purchase of alcohol by a minor constitutes a Class A Misdemeanor. A Class A Misdemeanor can lead to up to one year in jail-time and fines as high as $2,500. Your child could also face a six-month license suspension, even if the minor was not operating a vehicle. Outside of the initial legal consequences, a conviction of this magnitude can impact your child’s options of advanced education opportunities.

There a number of ways in which underage drinking can come with even more severe criminal charges. If a minor attempts to purchase alcohol with a fake identification card, they may be facing felony charges. When a child is apprehended while driving under the influence of alcohol, the charges can significantly impact them for some time.

...
Illinois State Bar Association DuPage County Bar Association Kane County Bar Association Hispanic Lawyers Association of Illinois
Law Office of Patricia Magaña, LLC

1555 Bond Street, Suite 103A, Naperville, IL 60563

Back to Top