1555 Bond Street, Suite 103A
Naperville, IL 60563

Se Habla Español
Call Today for a Free Consultation

Call Us630-448-2001

What Do I Have to Do to Get My Driver’s License Back After a Revocation?

Posted on July 29, 2022 in License Reinstatement

DuPage County License Revocation LawyerIf your license was revoked, this means that you can no longer drive any motor vehicle. Driving with a revoked license is a criminal offense, and if you are caught, you face immediate arrest and criminal charges. The only way to get your license back is to comply with the Secretary of State’s requirements. The requirements you must follow depend on several factors, including the type of offense, your criminal record, and whether you have an alcohol or drug addiction.

Steps to Take for License Reinstatement Depend on Your Drug and Alcohol Evaluation

The most common reason that a driver’s license is revoked in Illinois is a conviction for drunk driving. Before the Secretary of State will reinstate your license, you must prove that you have taken steps to avoid drunk driving in the future. You will need to participate in a DUI evaluation and answer questions about past and current drug or alcohol use. After you answer all of the questions, the evaluator will classify you based on your risk for repeat DUI offenses.

The risk category determines what you will need to do to get your license back:

·         “Minimal risk” individuals have to complete 10 hours of DUI Risk Education. This is a class in which you learn about the effects of drunk driving and how to avoid drunk driving in the future.

·         “Moderate risk” individuals will need to complete 10 hours of DUI Risk Education as well as 12 hours of early intervention. Some moderate-risk individuals will also need to complete a continuing care plan.

·         “Significant risk” individuals are required to complete the 10 hours of DUI Risk Education. They also have to complete 20 hours of substance abuse treatment and follow the provisions in their continuing care plan.

·         “High-risk” individuals must complete 75 hours of substance abuse treatment and take part in a continuing care plan. Those classified as “Level III Non-Dependent” must admit themselves to an in-patient program for drug and alcohol abuse.

Secretary of State Hearing

After you have completed the necessary DUI Risk Education classes and any other requirements, you wil attend a Secretary of State hearing. During the hearing, you will show proof that you completed all of the required steps and answer questions from a hearing officer. The Secretary of State has the final say on whether to reinstate your license or deny your request. You may work with an attorney before the hearing and/or have an attorney represent you during the hearing.

Contact Our Will County License Reinstatement Lawyer

If your license was revoked, contact the Law Office of Patricia Magaña, LLC for help. Illinois driver’s license reinstatement attorney Patricia Magaña speaks English and Spanish. She can help you understand exactly what you need to do to qualify for license reinstatement. Call our office at 630-448-2001 for a free initial consultation.




Illinois State Bar Association DuPage County Bar Association Kane County Bar Association Hispanic Lawyers Association of Illinois
Law Office of Patricia Magaña, LLC

1555 Bond Street, Suite 103A, Naperville, IL 60563

Back to Top