1555 Bond Street, Suite 103A
Naperville, IL 60563

Se Habla Español
Call Today for a Free Consultation

Call Us630-448-2001

Recent blog posts

IL defense lawyerIn the state of Illinois, thousands of people are arrested for drug-related crimes statewide each and every year. While the high arrest totals may suggest minimal criminal ramifications, the reality is that a drug charge can impact your employment status, lead to significant fines, and possibly result in jail time. Despite the fact that recreational marijuana is now legal in Illinois, a person can still face legal consequences for violating the rules outlined in the Cannabis Regulation and Tax Act. Below we will examine various drug charges in Illinois, and the importance of hiring a defense attorney you can believe in when facing charges of this magnitude.

Marijuana Charges in Illinois

As mentioned above, a person can still face marijuana-related charges in the state of Illinois. While it is legal for Illinois residents to possess up to 30 grams of marijuana (non-residents can possess up to 15 grams) possessing more than 30 grams is still considered a serious offense. According to Illinois state law, if you are apprehended while possessing between 30 and 100 grams of marijuana, you will face misdemeanor charges, fines up to $2,500 and up to one year in prison. It should be noted that a repeat offender will face increasingly severe consequences. Unlicensed sale of more than 10 grams of cannabis is considered a felony in the state of Illinois. If convicted, a person charged with unlicensed selling of marijuana will face one to three years in prison and fines up to $25,000.

With the legalization of recreational marijuana in Illinois, law enforcement officials are on the lookout for signs of driving while under the influence of marijuana. Police personnel will look for signs and symptoms such as bloodshot eyes, slurred speech, and the odor of marijuana after pulling over a driver on DUI suspicion. A first-time DUI offender will face Class A misdemeanor charges, and a conviction can lead to potential jail-time and license revocation.

...

Posted on in Juvenile

IL DUI lawyerEvery single year, hundreds of teens throughout the state of Illinois are arrested and charged with consuming alcohol as a minor. Due to the inherent risks that teenage alcohol consumption can have, such as alcohol poisoning and binge drinking, the potential legal consequences of a minor in possession charge can be extreme. Below we will examine some of the legal ramifications of teenage drinking, and how you should respond if your child has been charged with an underage drinking-related criminal offense.

The True Cost of Underage Drinking

When the vast majority of people think of underage drinking charges, they assume that the charges will likely lead to a slap on the wrist, the reality is that underage drinking charges can potentially jeopardize your child’s future. According to Illinois state law, possession, consumption, or purchase of alcohol by a minor (anyone below the legal drinking age of 21) constitutes a Class A misdemeanor charge, fines up to $2,500, and potentially significant jail-time. It is worth noting that a charge involving fraudulent identification or the act of impersonating another person in order to purchase or consume alcohol can result in felony charges. Whether your child has been charged with a felony or misdemeanor, a criminal conviction of this magnitude can impact their educational and occupational opportunities.

When it comes to drinking and driving, minors face increasingly strict state laws. Due to Illinois’ Zero Tolerance policy, a teenage driver can face a three-month driving suspension simply for having a blood alcohol content over 0.00. If the teen refuses chemical testing, such as a breathalyzer test, they will face an automatic six-month suspension. Much like an adult, if a teen is charged with a DUI, they will face Class A misdemeanor charges. The significant difference in the charge is the fact that a teenage driver will face a two-year license revocation period if convicted.

...

IL DUI lawyerIn the state of Illinois, thousands of people are arrested and charged with driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, each and every year. According to Illinois state law, a DUI conviction constitutes a Class A Misdemeanor charge. Unfortunately for those charged with driving under the influence, there are a number of factors that can lead to a DUI charge being elevated to a felony, these factors are known as aggravating factors. Below we will examine some of the reasons why you could be facing felony charges after driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol.

What Constitutes an Aggravated DUI

If a DUI charge is elevated from a misdemeanor to a felony, it is now categorized as an aggravated DUI. The most common reason for an aggravated DUI charge is that the defendant is facing their third or subsequent DUI charge. Other common aggravating factors include a DUI resulting in great bodily harm to another party, driving under the influence while your license is suspended or revoked due to previous DUI charges, and driving under the influence without a valid driver’s license. A new state law passed in January 2019 states that a driver can be charged with an aggravated DUI if they are apprehended while driving the wrong direction down a one-way street, while intoxicated.

The Impact of an Aggravated DUI

While any DUI charge should be taken seriously, an aggravated DUI can drastically impact a person’s life. First and foremost, having a felony charge on your criminal record can significantly diminish one’s ability to secure housing, employment, and even loans. Secondly, a mandatory prison sentence cannot be reduced or suspended when a person is facing felony DUI charges. For those that need to drive their vehicle in order to get to work or drop their children off at school, an aggravated DUI conviction will likely result in a 10-year license revocation. If you are facing felony DUI charges, it is critically important to speak with a knowledgeable legal professional.

...

Posted on in DUI

IL DUI lawyerDriving under the influence of drugs or alcohol can seriously impact a person’s ability to safely operate a vehicle. Because of this, the potential ramifications of a DUI conviction are significant. If you have been charged with driving under the influence, it is important to act quickly. The most important step you can take when facing DUI charges is hiring an experienced legal professional that you can believe in.

The Legal Consequences

In the state of Illinois, a DUI conviction constitutes a Class A misdemeanor charge. If convicted, the guilty party may face up to one year in prison, as well as fines up to $2,500. A first-time DUI offender will likely have the choice of spending a mandatory ten days in jail or 30 days of community service hours. The offender will also face a one-year license revocation period. A conviction of this magnitude can result in job loss, depending on the party’s occupation.

The Cost of a Conviction

Outside of the legal ramifications of a DUI conviction, a DUI can cost a person financially.

...

Posted on in DUI

IL DUI lawyerIn the state of Illinois, more than 26,000 drivers were arrested for driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, throughout 2018. While a standard DUI conviction will constitute a Class A misdemeanor charge, some circumstances can result in felony charges. When a DUI is elevated to a felony, it is legally referred to as an aggravated DUI. Below we will examine some of the most common aggravated DUIs, and the potential legal ramifications of a charge of such magnitude. If you have been charged with driving under the influence, it is time to speak with an experienced criminal defense lawyer.

The Most Common Aggravated DUIs

In the vast majority of cases, a DUI will be elevated to an aggravated DUI due to increased level of negligence. It is important to note though, that a third or subsequent DUI charge will automatically be elevated to an aggravated DUI. A driver that is charged with their third DUI will face Class 2 felony charges. A DUI resulting in great bodily harm to another party will also result in felony charges, even if the charge is the driver’s first alcohol-related traffic violation. It should be noted that a person charged with a DUI resulting in injury will face a minimum two-year license revocation period.

In other cases, a person can face felony DUI charges for failing to comply with Illinois state law prior to getting behind the wheel. If a driver is charged with driving under the influence and fails to present a valid driver’s license or permit, or lacks proper vehicle liability insurance, they will face Class 4 felony charges.

...
Illinois State Bar Association DuPage County Bar Association Kane County Bar Association Hispanic Lawyers Association of Illinois
Law Office of Patricia Magaña, LLC

1555 Bond Street, Suite 103A, Naperville, IL 60563

Back to Top